The Harry Dowling Award was created by the South Australian Association of Regional Tourism Organisations in 1983 to recognise excellence in regional tourism.  The Award is in memory of the late Harry Dowling, one of the early pioneers of regional tourism in South Australia.  The former Mayor of Moonta, and local tradesperson from Yorke Peninsula, was dedicated to tourism promotion of the Yorke Peninsula and the State.

The prestigious Harry Dowling Award, previously part of the South Australian Tourism Awards, is now presented as part of the Yorke Peninsula Tourism Awards.


The award will be presented to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the South Australian tourism industry.

Nominees must:

a)  Be involved (past or present) with a recognised Regional Tourism Body

b)  Have significantly contributed to regional tourism

(Note:  past recipients are ineligible to enter)

Nomination Process:

The nominator must prepare a 500 word submission to support the application of their chosen individual.

State-wide nominations are now open with submissions due by 4pm Thursday 5th May 2016.

No entry fee is required for this category.

The winner will be announced on Wednesday 22nd June at the Yorke Peninsula Tourism Awards Gala Night at Ardrossan.

Email completed submissions to Yorke Peninsula Tourism.

For enquiries please phone 8821 2663 or email the Yorke Peninsula Tourism Manager.

No nomination fee required


Download the Harry Dowling Award criteria


Copper Coast Visitor Information Centre, Kadina

Ph 1800 654 991

Send Message

Yorke Peninsula Visitor Information Centre, Minlaton 

Ph 1800 202 445

Send Message